top of page

Kundalini Yoga

Kundalini is a form of yoga that involves chanting, singing, breathing exercises, and repetitive poses to activate your Kundalini Energy, or "Shakti", (spiritual energy located at the base of your spine).

Kundalini Yoga is both challenging and comforting in equal parts. The profound science of this practice brings about chemical reactions in your body that create palpable shifts in metacognition, physical health, and daily life.

If you are familiar with Hatha Yoga, or one of its derivations (Vinyasa, Iyengar, Bikram, etc.), you have a basic understanding of a few aspects of Kundalini Yoga. In fact, Hatha and Kundalini share common ground as they both use postures and breath to foster the union of body, mind, and soul.

What makes Kundalini Yoga different than other types of yoga is that it approaches yoga like a "technology" through a sequence of movements called a "Kriya".


Kriya's include:

  • Asanas (postures)

  • Mantras (sound vibrations)

  • Bandhas (body locks)

  • Pranayama (breathing techniques)

  • Mudras (energy seals with hand placements)

  • Meditation

Kriyas work on the endocrine system by using mantras and eye focus. This is believed to stimulate the pituitary gland, which is associated with your 6th, or Third Eye, Chakra, and pineal gland, which is associated with your 7th, or Crown, Chakra, which helps bring awareness to your body and mind.

bottom of page